What is it when some people get inside their cars that turns them into complete lunatics? They drive too slow, too fast, weave in and out of traffic, and worse of all tailgate. It gets to the point that it's scary these days to even go for a leisurely drive which is never truly leisurely. Every trip leaves the potential for running into one (but usually more) of these lunatics. I breathe a sigh of relief every time I make it safely to a destination. When Dom worked at the school, he made it a point to email me to let me know that he made it safely. I in turn do the same when I make it to my job downtown safely.
I have so many examples of raging roadsters that I ran into. My most recent example was a few days ago. I was coming home from work a little earlier Thursday afternoon to try and beat some inclement weather that was forecasted . Thankfully 95% of my trip is via train (if I'm not traveling to Indianapolis which thankfully I haven't done in six months or so). But I do drive to the train station. To get out of the station, one of the exits I go to I have to make a left. There is no traffic light at the exit and there's no stop signs for the main road. There's only one lane to enter and exit so if you're making a left and someone behind you is making a right, the person behind you is stuck until the person in front can safely make a left. It take forever (probably 5 minutes in actual time) to make that left as by the time traffic clears on one side, there's traffic on the other side. Then it repeats until you have to either take a crazy risk and speed ahead of upcoming traffic or get lucky and catch a rare break where traffic isn't appearing on either side.
Knowing this I try to wait until everyone in the parking lot leaves before me so I don't have anyone behind me. This past Thursday one of the people fooled me into thinking they were staying behind much longer but as I was heading towards the exit, they were backing up. So they wound up behind me.
It was raining currently so I didn't want to squeal out as I was afraid of hydroplaning and losing control of my car. Unfortunately traffic was coming from both directions and there were times when one side was clear and the other would get traffic. After two minutes I decided to step out on the left side of the road when I saw that traffic was gone on that side. There were multiple cars still coming from the right side so I couldn't turn.
A minute later there was a car speeding on the left side coming towards me. I heard him honking and the driver was not slowing down. There was a final car on the right side that barely got past me and I was finally able to make the left just as the speed demon crossed my lane. That person wasn't planning on stopping and I could've been side swiped. Even if he did, with the wet roads it would've been harder to stop. I definitely thanked my lucky stars when I got home (two minutes later). I look forward to the warmer weather when I can start walking to the train station again. I just have to watch for the lunatics when trying to walk across the street...LOL.
Another example that comes to mind is three Saturdays back when Dom and I drove to Four Winds casino in New Buffalo, MI. There's a point in the trip when the two lane road that we're on merges with another major road coming from the East. We're on the left hand side and the traffic we merge into is on the right. There's a stop sign where we have to stop and take turns crossing for the other traffic that merges West for the second road.
So I was crossing over and merging into the road along with another car that was on the right lane. We both are in two lanes on the merged road. An idiot coming from the second road going East is driving super fast and is quickly tailgating me. I can't move over safely since the other car is on the second lane. The idiot moves into the other lane behind the other car now tailgating that person. There is a car a half block in front of me that has his turn signal making a left. I'm guessing idiot driver was anticipating I would have to stop and they can merrily zip into the left lane once they're past the turning car. But the turning car was able to turn before I got there.
So I kept driving and idiot driver was still tailgating the other person. I managed to get a good distance from both cars. I then saw the idiot driver get in my lane. Knowing that he was going to zig zag, I thought I'd save him the trouble and safely move to the right lane.
So then he speeds along but not without gesturing the finger to me and shouting incoherently before speeding along. I immediately honked my horn to let him and everyone else know what an idiot he was as he continued speeding and weaving around other cars. I guess he was in a hurry to get his weed at one of the over 30 weed dispensaries in New Buffalo.
That's just two examples of the many encounters I've experienced while driving on the road and Dom of course has had his own share, some while I was a passenger as well.
It truly is scary driving on the roads these days. There are so many stories of road rage incidents where people end up fighting or getting shot. I thank goodness that it hasn't gotten to that point in my encounters (knock on wood). But it's just one more thing that we have to deal with in this life.